Custom Bats Cricket Forum

General Cricket => Cricket Training, Fitness and Injuries => Topic started by: Rik on March 13, 2012, 03:25:21 AM

Title: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Rik on March 13, 2012, 03:25:21 AM
I was down at the nets the other day, and as I am rather average off spin bowler I often bowl it too short. This resulted in me bowling a ball that bounced twice and hit the stumps. My understanding is that it's only a no ball on the third bounce.

What I am trying to get at here is has had anyone ever tried purposely bowling a double bouncer? I started to bowl them in the nets on purpose and really frustrated a few batsmen... bowled a couple too. It seemed like it might be useful as most batsmen seem to want to smash it out of the park, but the lack of pace and bounce to get underneath it makes it quiet hard.

Any thoughts?
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Six Sixes Cricket on March 13, 2012, 04:03:39 AM
I took a wicket in a game two years ago that bounced twice. The batsmen was far from pleased.
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: kaustav on March 13, 2012, 04:29:14 AM
Both of you should head to the gym and build some muscles  :D
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Rik on March 13, 2012, 04:33:57 AM
Did the batsmen try to smash it out of the park? Was he expecting it to be a no ball?

Did you bowl it on purpose or by accident? Would you consider bowling it again?

@kaustav, I'd be a much better bowler if it were about fitness! It's more a lack of a consistent action, practice, application!
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: kaustav on March 13, 2012, 04:42:20 AM
The rule is, if I am not mistaken, if the ball bounces more than twice before the batsman in his original stance, it is a no-ball.

@Rik: no worries mate-- I was only kidding; I have the opposite problem sometimes---- bowling without making the ball bounce at all...lol  ;)
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Six Sixes Cricket on March 13, 2012, 04:48:02 AM
The batsman was smashing everything, I think he was in the 70's when I came in to bowl. I usually bowl to give the team a laugh! It wasn't a deliberate double bouncer but it generally happens in my 1st over.

Last season I double bounced a ball wide. Half the team were on the floor laughing as was the batsman. Next ball he was out caught. I ended up taking 3 wickets in 4 overs. So the double bounce can have its benefits.
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Rik on March 13, 2012, 04:56:09 AM
@d7bow, 3 wickets in 4 over is not a bad return. Have you ever bowled a ball that has bounced twice and seen it get smashed to the boundary? It seems hard to get away.

@kaustav, oh you were kidding? I was just about to go take some shirtless photos with my phone in front of the mirror! :-P
I know you were joking, as was I - trying to convey that I wish bowling was merely about fitness :)... I actually find the low full toss on some grounds to be an okay ball, the amount of times it has resulted in a catch at cow corner is surprising. The amount of times it has gone for 6 however... :-(

Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: kaustav on March 13, 2012, 05:16:17 AM

@kaustav, oh you were kidding? I was just about to go take some shirtless photos with my phone in front of the mirror! :-P


Good idea. But please don't post it here....  :o
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Simmy on March 13, 2012, 07:32:45 AM
i thought there was a new rule this year where it can only bounce once?
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Nickauger on March 13, 2012, 07:37:24 AM
Weren't the England bowlers trying to develop a double bouncer for the world cup? I think it was either outlawed by the ICC, or decided against by the ECB for being unsportsmanlike.
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: cricket43 on March 13, 2012, 08:56:33 AM
i took a wicket like that 2 weeks ago , a few years ago in under 12s ive seen people take wickets and the ball is literally rolling thats happened like 5 times that year
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Liam-SCCC on March 13, 2012, 08:59:38 AM
Simmy is right, it can only bounce one before it gets to the batsman, if it bounces a second time between the batsman and the stumps then that's ok
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Kulli on March 13, 2012, 09:17:03 AM
There was some kid in Worcs 2xi had supposedly perfected the double bouncer as an off spinner as a delivery to be used in T20 games.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/8694650.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/8694650.stm)

Think they changed the rules shortly afterwards though.
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Manormanic on March 13, 2012, 12:18:07 PM
Nathan Dumelow, if I recall correctly.

The law is, if the ball bounces a second time before the front crease, its a no ball.
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: 123* on March 13, 2012, 05:40:22 PM
It's a no ball if it bounces twice in first class cricket (may apply to minor counties, not entirely sure) however on a saturday afternoon its a perfectly legal delivery, Ricki Clarke was also developing a two bounce yorker but as the above say's it was outlawed before he could roll it out!
Title: Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
Post by: Rik on March 13, 2012, 11:49:01 PM
Interesting. So at the higher levels it's no longer a legitimate delivery but the majority of us playing at our level can get away with bowling it?

I didn't really think it was against the 'spirit of the game'... but I'd like to hear if others do. It's not like an underarm delivery (that was legal when the infamous incident occurred), as it still presents a scoring opportunity to the batsmen if they were to maintain composure I'm sure they could still hit it to the boundary. The advantage of the delivery is that it is something that is unexpected and that nobody really practices playing shots against I suppose.