Advertise on CBF

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Bowling a ball that bounces twice  (Read 2405 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rik

  • First XI Captain
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 237
  • Trade Count: (0)
Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« on: March 13, 2012, 03:25:21 AM »

I was down at the nets the other day, and as I am rather average off spin bowler I often bowl it too short. This resulted in me bowling a ball that bounced twice and hit the stumps. My understanding is that it's only a no ball on the third bounce.

What I am trying to get at here is has had anyone ever tried purposely bowling a double bouncer? I started to bowl them in the nets on purpose and really frustrated a few batsmen... bowled a couple too. It seemed like it might be useful as most batsmen seem to want to smash it out of the park, but the lack of pace and bounce to get underneath it makes it quiet hard.

Any thoughts?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2012, 03:31:29 AM by Rik »
Logged
The great thing in hitting is, not to be half-hearted about it; but when you make up your mind to hit, to do it as if the whole match depended upon that particular stroke.

Six Sixes Cricket

  • Forum Sponsor
  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4340
  • Trade Count: (+20)
    • Six Sixes Cricket Ltd
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2012, 04:03:39 AM »

I took a wicket in a game two years ago that bounced twice. The batsmen was far from pleased.

kaustav

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1087
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Excuse me for requesting your pardon: I am drunk
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2012, 04:29:14 AM »

Both of you should head to the gym and build some muscles  :D
Logged
In Water I trust!!

Rik

  • First XI Captain
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 237
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2012, 04:33:57 AM »

Did the batsmen try to smash it out of the park? Was he expecting it to be a no ball?

Did you bowl it on purpose or by accident? Would you consider bowling it again?

@kaustav, I'd be a much better bowler if it were about fitness! It's more a lack of a consistent action, practice, application!
Logged
The great thing in hitting is, not to be half-hearted about it; but when you make up your mind to hit, to do it as if the whole match depended upon that particular stroke.

kaustav

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1087
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Excuse me for requesting your pardon: I am drunk
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2012, 04:42:20 AM »

The rule is, if I am not mistaken, if the ball bounces more than twice before the batsman in his original stance, it is a no-ball.

@Rik: no worries mate-- I was only kidding; I have the opposite problem sometimes---- bowling without making the ball bounce at all...lol  ;)
Logged
In Water I trust!!

Six Sixes Cricket

  • Forum Sponsor
  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4340
  • Trade Count: (+20)
    • Six Sixes Cricket Ltd
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2012, 04:48:02 AM »

The batsman was smashing everything, I think he was in the 70's when I came in to bowl. I usually bowl to give the team a laugh! It wasn't a deliberate double bouncer but it generally happens in my 1st over.

Last season I double bounced a ball wide. Half the team were on the floor laughing as was the batsman. Next ball he was out caught. I ended up taking 3 wickets in 4 overs. So the double bounce can have its benefits.

Rik

  • First XI Captain
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 237
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2012, 04:56:09 AM »

@d7bow, 3 wickets in 4 over is not a bad return. Have you ever bowled a ball that has bounced twice and seen it get smashed to the boundary? It seems hard to get away.

@kaustav, oh you were kidding? I was just about to go take some shirtless photos with my phone in front of the mirror! :-P
I know you were joking, as was I - trying to convey that I wish bowling was merely about fitness :)... I actually find the low full toss on some grounds to be an okay ball, the amount of times it has resulted in a catch at cow corner is surprising. The amount of times it has gone for 6 however... :-(

Logged
The great thing in hitting is, not to be half-hearted about it; but when you make up your mind to hit, to do it as if the whole match depended upon that particular stroke.

kaustav

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1087
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Excuse me for requesting your pardon: I am drunk
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2012, 05:16:17 AM »


@kaustav, oh you were kidding? I was just about to go take some shirtless photos with my phone in front of the mirror! :-P


Good idea. But please don't post it here....  :o
Logged
In Water I trust!!

Simmy

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6101
  • Trade Count: (+3)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2012, 07:32:45 AM »

i thought there was a new rule this year where it can only bounce once?
Logged

Nickauger

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3521
  • Trade Count: (+2)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2012, 07:37:24 AM »

Weren't the England bowlers trying to develop a double bouncer for the world cup? I think it was either outlawed by the ICC, or decided against by the ECB for being unsportsmanlike.
Logged

cricket43

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2012, 08:56:33 AM »

i took a wicket like that 2 weeks ago , a few years ago in under 12s ive seen people take wickets and the ball is literally rolling thats happened like 5 times that year
Logged

Liam-SCCC

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5664
  • Trade Count: (+39)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2012, 08:59:38 AM »

Simmy is right, it can only bounce one before it gets to the batsman, if it bounces a second time between the batsman and the stumps then that's ok
Logged
Top Score: 102*                
Best Bowling: 7/29

Kulli

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5450
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Herr Kaleun
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2012, 09:17:03 AM »

There was some kid in Worcs 2xi had supposedly perfected the double bouncer as an off spinner as a delivery to be used in T20 games.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/8694650.stm

Think they changed the rules shortly afterwards though.
Logged
They won't catch us this time! Not this time! They haven't spotted us! No, they're all snoring in their bunks! Or, you know what? They're drinking at the bar, celebrating our sinking! Not yet, my friends. Not yet!

Manormanic

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6758
  • Trade Count: (+1)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2012, 12:18:07 PM »

Nathan Dumelow, if I recall correctly.

The law is, if the ball bounces a second time before the front crease, its a no ball.
Logged
"to be the man, you've got to beat the man"

123*

  • County 1st XI
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 931
  • Trade Count: (+4)
Re: Bowling a ball that bounces twice
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2012, 05:40:22 PM »

It's a no ball if it bounces twice in first class cricket (may apply to minor counties, not entirely sure) however on a saturday afternoon its a perfectly legal delivery, Ricki Clarke was also developing a two bounce yorker but as the above say's it was outlawed before he could roll it out!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

Advertise on CBF