Advertise on CBF

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: LBW rule  (Read 6246 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Seniorplayer

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6236
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #30 on: June 08, 2015, 08:57:17 PM »

Regardless of the type of delivery If the ball makes contact outside leg stump it should be given not out.
Logged

swamidude

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Trade Count: (+1)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #31 on: June 08, 2015, 09:04:49 PM »

id have given you out and if an umpire had given me out for those reasons given i would have been fine with it.

Going against the laws of the game which were quoted earlier?
Logged

RoyalParkReds

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #32 on: June 09, 2015, 02:57:26 AM »

100 % not out, confirmed by the law as mentioned previously. I'm surprised so many think otherwise.

The only rule that I can think of that involves LBW and hitting on the full is the one stating that in the case of a spin bowler hitting the batsman on the full, the umpire should assume the bowl will travel that trajectory and not factor any spin that may be there. 
Logged

HallamKeeper

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #33 on: June 09, 2015, 06:43:07 AM »

Clearly not out. I think people are confusing the 'not playing a shot outside off stump' part of the rule and applying it to the leg side. I might be wrong but the original lbw rule had to hitting the pads in line with the stumps but it was changed to stop people padding the ball away outside off but the leg side is still OK.
Logged
The artist formerly known as CalverKeeper

KarlPennington

  • Club Cricketer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #34 on: June 09, 2015, 12:07:20 PM »

Not out. The umpire can't 'assume' the swing would take it onto to hit the stumps.

How do you know the umpire didn't think it hit you in line??
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

Advertise on CBF