LBW rule
Advertise on CBF

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: LBW rule  (Read 6245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lumsden

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
  • Trade Count: (0)
LBW rule
« on: June 08, 2015, 10:05:01 AM »

If the ball hits the batsman's pads outside the line of LEG-STUMP on the full (has not pitched) but in the umpire's opinion it would have hit the stumps, can that be given out? I understood that if you are playing a shot, the ball must hit you in-line with the stumps for the umpire to consider whether you are LBW.
Logged
Best Bowling: 7/39
Best Batting: 72no (yes honestly !!)

sgcricket

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1102
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2015, 10:09:29 AM »

Even if you are not playing a shot, if it hits you outside leg stump, its not out.
Logged

WalkingWicket37

  • International Superstar
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12983
  • Trade Count: (+26)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2015, 10:11:01 AM »

Yes.
Cannot be out if it pitches outside leg stump.
As it's hit the batsman on the full, it has not pitched, so even though the impact was outside the line of leg stump, if the umpire thinks it's hitting then it's out.
Logged

GarrettJ

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2512
  • Trade Count: (+2)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2015, 10:17:33 AM »

must be left arm over then?
Logged
retired 2006
retired 2014
retired 2018

RightArmLedge

  • First XI Captain
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 185
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2015, 10:23:00 AM »

Contact outside the line of leg stump = Not Out.
Logged
Got wood ?

uknsaunders

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8656
  • Trade Count: (+4)
    • Farmers CC
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2015, 10:29:33 AM »

Yes.
Cannot be out if it pitches outside leg stump.
As it's hit the batsman on the full, it has not pitched, so even though the impact was outside the line of leg stump, if the umpire thinks it's hitting then it's out.

agree, if the ball hasn't pitched then chances are it will be pitching in line if the line is hitting the stumps. The only caveat to this is if the batsman has his leg extended outside the line of leg stump for a sweep shot, at which point the angle and point of impact would make it impossible to be certain it was hitting. I assume we are talking about something that was pretty much wicket to wicket that just didn't pitch?
Logged
email and googletalk: uknsaunders@gmail.com
club website: http://www.farmerscricketjersey.net/

Lumsden

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2015, 10:38:27 AM »

agree, if the ball hasn't pitched then chances are it will be pitching in line if the line is hitting the stumps. The only caveat to this is if the batsman has his leg extended outside the line of leg stump for a sweep shot, at which point the angle and point of impact would make it impossible to be certain it was hitting. I assume we are talking about something that was pretty much wicket to wicket that just didn't pitch?

Oh well perhaps I wasn't so hardly done to after all. The ball could have well pitched in-line and hit the stumps, my anger was that I was hit outside the line. Learn something new every day.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2015, 10:40:40 AM by Lumsden »
Logged
Best Bowling: 7/39
Best Batting: 72no (yes honestly !!)

smilley792

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8755
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Willoooowwwww
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2015, 10:41:50 AM »

https://www.lords.org/mcc/laws-of-cricket/laws/law-36-leg-before-wicket/


Still not sure

It does mention something about not being intercepted before pitching. 


All full tosses should go for 6 anyway.
Logged
@chrisjones792
Fastest ton- 54balls

tim2000s

  • Administrator
  • International Superstar
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10678
  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • If I only could bat....
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2015, 11:24:16 AM »

(a) The bowler delivers a ball, not being a No ball,

and (b) the ball, if it is not intercepted full pitch, pitches in line between wicket and wicket or on the off side of the striker’s wicket - Okay, yours was full pitch - this section doesn't apply

and (c) the ball not having previously touched his bat, the striker intercepts the ball, either full pitch Your case or after pitching, with any part of his person,

and (d) the point of impact, even if above the level of the bails,

either (i) is between wicket and wicket, Was your point of impact between wicket and wicket?

or (ii) if the striker has made no genuine attempt to play the ball with his bat, is either between wicket and wicket or outside the line of the off stump.

and (e) but for the interception, the ball would have hit the wicket.

Based on what this says, if you were really hit outside the line of leg stump on a ball that didn't pitch, you shouldn't be out.


Regardless of the below:

 Interception of the ball

(a) In assessing points (c), (d) and (e) in 1 above, only the first interception is to be considered.

(b) In assessing point (e) in 1 above, it is to be assumed that the path of the ball before interception would have continued after interception, irrespective of whether the ball might have pitched subsequently or not.
Logged

noelfitz99

  • Colts
  • Village Cricketer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2015, 12:29:53 PM »

I am a qualified umpire in Ireland and if the ball pitches outside leg any appeal should be given not out regardless of whether the batsman attempts a shot
Logged

swamidude

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Trade Count: (+1)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2015, 12:39:55 PM »

If it hits you outside the line of leg it's not out. Otherwise people would just bowl right arm round full tosses at the legs.
Logged

HallamKeeper

  • County 2nd XI
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2015, 12:45:59 PM »

One for Ask the Umpire on TMS even though it seems the answer is now clear. Would make a good question for them.
Logged
The artist formerly known as CalverKeeper

uknsaunders

  • Forum Legend
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8656
  • Trade Count: (+4)
    • Farmers CC
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2015, 12:56:34 PM »

If it hits you outside the line of leg it's not out. Otherwise people would just bowl right arm round full tosses at the legs.

Good point and kind of what I was getting at but if you are not playing a shot then what?
Logged
email and googletalk: uknsaunders@gmail.com
club website: http://www.farmerscricketjersey.net/

GarrettJ

  • World Cup Winner
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2512
  • Trade Count: (+2)
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2015, 01:20:06 PM »

left arm over, you try and smack a full bunger through cow corner and miss. It his just outside leg but the angle means it would have hit leg stump

OUT!!!
Logged
retired 2006
retired 2014
retired 2018

TangoWhiskey

  • International Captain
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1629
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Review that.
Re: LBW rule
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2015, 01:24:36 PM »

I'm pretty sure they answered this question the other day, I think the answer was you can't be out if the ball pitches outside leg stump full stop.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

Advertise on CBF